Weltschmerz:Romanticism

Weltschmerz: 1:  mental depression or apathy caused by comparison of the actual state of the world with an ideal state; 2:  a mood of sentimental sadness
Romanticism: the quality or state of being impractical or unrealistic : romantic feelings or ideas
I am a romantic. I am not hopeless. I’m a realist. I romanticize different ideals. From buying a new rig to getting that promotion to having more money in my accounts to getting along with my family to having Jagger (the dog) be able to learn tricks & commands in minutes to having the ideal partner by my side. Weltschmerz is what happens when I accidentally begin to live in that world only to realize it’s not real. That’s when I have to fight the urge to crumble under the load of reality. Everyday is a struggle to keep the anxiety & depression at bay. I’m not the only one, I know. Last year I began to take myself & my health seriously. This is also a daily battle but if I take it day by day, it’s easier & less overwhelming. Then I take a look back on the amount of time that’s passed & I see the progress I’ve made. That’s my motivation to not let success scare me back into my bed.
Learning to let go of the toxic, negative influences of your life is a hard thing to do. These usually come in the form of your significant other, family member or friend. It was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. Weltschmerz.
Have you ever had to do this? Break out of an idealistic world you created? What was that world? How did you do it? How are you now?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/6b6/81321471/files/2015/01/img_4441.jpg

What do you think?

