Nearer My God to Thee

I have a religious question: When do you feel close to your religion’s god? As a child, I was taught to believe what I was told & not question. As I grew & began to forge my own way & broaden my horizons, I started to challenge what I had been taught. As someone who grew up in the Lutheran faith, reared by former Catholics, I’ve been met with a lot of condescension & nay sayers. I consider myself a devout Christian. I dedicated the first 21 years of my life to a specific church & was confirmed in the faith. They believe you must repent for everything the church considers a sin, e.g. homosexuality. As a gay man, I obviously do not believe this is a sin. I also feel the teachings of the church are completely misguided & interpreted as absolute. In my family, you are not considered a true Christian unless you attend church religiously, no pun intended. Since I was no longer allowed to receive Communion, I found myself searching for a church or denomination who accepted me as a human & allowed for human error. I’ve yet to find this in organized religion. The more I veered away from the church, the more I began to distance myself from the Christian ‘army.’ There’s a quote: I’m not against Christ. It’s His army I can’t stand. This, I’ve discovered, is so painfully true. There are so many people who consider themselves Christian but do not portray Christ’s love. So begs the question: when do you feel closer to God? Do you feel you need to be surrounded by others with like minds? Do you feel closer when you are experiencing everything He’s placed on this earth? Or maybe when you are bettering yourself? I feel closer to God when I’m experiencing everything, nature, pleasures & even the gut checks. When I’m in the gym making my body push the limits. Even carnal pleasures (obviously not during). What do you do to feel your god’s presence?

One thought on “Nearer My God to Thee

  1. Im most aware of God’s presence when I’m hurting the most. I deal with chronic pain, and during a flare up, my only comfort is in Christ.

    I’m a churchmember who attends regularly. I do take exception to the phrase that I believe was coined by Ghandi where he has no problem with Christ, just His church. According to the Bible, the church is the bride of Christ. If someone told me that I was a swell guy but didnt like my wife I would have to say that they are not my friend. Do Christians sin? Certainly. Does anyone handle all matters gracefully at all times? Of course not. But to reject Christ’s bride is to reject Christ.

    I also believe that the Bible is the infallible Word of God. If it wasn’t, there would be no point in believing in Christ. He would be a liar. According to the Bible, homosexuality is a sin just like lying, drunkenness, murder, etc.

    To be saved, we must repent of our sins and put our faith in Christ. Anything less will result in hell. I know that you have your beliefs and respect them, but I cannot affirm anything that runs counter to Biblical doctrine. Not church doctrine. Biblical doctrine.

    Like

What do you think?

